Congratulations to our new deacons and priests

The Bishop of Wakefield will ordain priests and deacons at special services next weekend.

The Bishop of Wakefield will ordain three people to the priesthood at 11.00am on Saturday 30 June at the Church of the Community of the Resurrection, Mirfield:

Neil Traynor - St Mary with St Paul, Barnsley

Tom Hiney - Dewsbury Minster and

John Whitney - St. John the Baptist, Kirkheaton.

In addition John Flood, serving the parish of Todmorden will be ordained priest by Bishop Platten at 11.00am on Sunday 1 July  in St. Mary’s, Todmorden.


Halifax Minster is to host the service for the ordination of deacons at 3.30pm on Saturday 30 June when Bishop Platten will ordain ten new Deacons into the Church of England.

Three women and seven men will serve in parishes across the Diocese of Wakefield, including

Matthew Hunter - Halifax Minster

Ailsa Brooke - Upper Holme Valley Team Parish

Darren Percival - St. John the Baptist, Dodworth

Paul Fox - St. Cuthbert, Ackworth

Stuart Kilpatrick - St Anne in the Grove, Southowram and St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount

Lesley Greenwood-Haigh - Almondbury with Farnley Tyas Team Parish

Clifford Kay -St Hilda’s, Halifax and St John’s Warley

Andrew Hall - St Martin, Brighouse & Clifton

Gill Page - St. Mary’s Todmorden and

Keith Freeman - St Paul, Shepley & Emmanuel, Shelley.


News Categories

Church Calendar




Young People


ENews and West Yorkshire and Dales News

All Events now on new West Yorkshire and the Dales website

More events


Announcements archive

Legal Notice

Click here


Vacancies now advertised on the West Yorkshire and the Dales website

Employment papers and policies

Links to other Church Vacancy websites

More vacancies

Educational Vacancies

More vacancies